STEPHEN KING: THE GREEN MILE

 

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

 

Told you I’m a sucker for Stephen King novels. This particular novel hit me hard and it almost made me cry. A very touching story with a twist of supernatural events.

The story revolves around John Coffey, a giant of a black man who was convicted of rape and  brutal murder of two little girls. Paul, who was the head of the Death Row at Cold Mountain State Penitentiary, is very keen to observe that John is more likely to be innocent and soon realizes that John possesses an inexplicable healing  abilities, which cured his Urinary Tract Infection  and revived Mr. Jingles, the pet rat all the prisoners are fond of after Percy stamps on him. Percy is this homophobic guard who seems to be disliked by Paul and all the other guards because of how he treats the prisoners. John is very kind and sensitive to the thoughts and feelings of others around him. He was able to make a connection with the other prisoners. Because Paul realizes what a miracle John was, he decided to bring John to Melinda, wife of Hal Moores, who is suffering from brain tumor.

Paul’s haunting suspicions that John is innocent are proven right when he discovers that it was actually William Wharton who raped and killed the twin sisters and that John was trying to revive them. John’s kind heart has made it even more hard for Paul to supervise his execution. John is somehow ready to accept his fate and submitted to his final destination. By the way, William Wharton was captured  because of the other murders he committed and Paul was able to discover the truth that he’s the man who killed the twins when Wharton suddenly grabbed John when he passed by Wharton’s cell. He was really creepy and out of whack.

It’s a very moving story and it really creates an impact to it’s readers. I pictured the execution of John and also how the prison guards shed their tears while they watch John Coffey as he was prepared to be electrocuted sitting on Old Sparky, the electric chair.

 

“‘I’m rightly tired of the pain I hear and feel, boss. I’m tired of bein on the road, lonely as a robin in the rain. Not never havin no buddy to go on with or tell me where we’s comin from or goin to or why. I’m tired of people bein ugly to each other. It feels like pieces of glass in my head. I’m tired of all the times I’ve wanted to help and couldn’t. I’m tired of bein in the dark. Mostly it’s the pain. There’s too much. If I could end it, I would. But I can’t.'” -John Coffey

 

I was never satisfied with just reading the novel and so I decided to download the movie and watched it.  It puts the characters to life and it made the story even more real. The movie actually lasted for three hours. Tom Hanks portrayed Paul Edgecombe really well and of course same goes with the late Michael Clarke Duncan.

 

How about you? What’s your favorite Stephen King’s novel? Care to share?

 

Yours,

 

Cheryl aka Anoushka

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

