My vintage addiction

There’s always something mysterious and intriguing about the things belonging from an old era, things that smelled of dust and cobwebs, or things that gives you the creeps.

I’m talking about vintage and anything antique. I’ve never told you how I’ve always been fascinated with them. I can still remember I went into this thrift store and got my first antique collectible (which is actually a mirror with flowered engravings at the back.) I felt like I’m back in the 60’s and I always felt pretty and happy whenever I use it.
So when my friend asked me to go with him in  Makati for some antique/vintage shopping, I didn’t think twice.

I wonder why there are a lot of antique stores at Evangelista. It’s like every house there sells old stuff. From old books, antique furniture, antique jewelries, vinyl, cassette tapes, old clothes and anything ancient you can think of. I’m not kidding when I say we even saw some old perfumes that smelled like flowers from the grave and actually costs 5000 pesos! Unbelievable.

Some of the things we saw there are old collectible bottles like these

Evangelista Makati antiques

Swords from World War 1 and 2, hats from japanese soldiers, complete BDU(battle dress uniform) with soldier’s blood, old walkie talkies, and even toy soldiers!

Evangelista Makati antiques

Evangelista Makati antiques

Evangelista Makati antiques

Evangelista Makati antiques

Guns and Ammo

Evangelista Makati antiques

Soldier hats for 500. I wonder if they smelled of blood and sweat. Didn’t bother to even find out.

Evangelista Makati antiques

old wine bottles from abuelitos.

Evangelista Makati antiques

Bow and arrows probably used by katipuneros, or perhaps used by Emilio Aguinaldo?

Evangelista Makati antiques

I’m fascinated about old appliances like radio and tv.

Evangelista Makati antiques

Evangelista Makati antiques

Evangelista Makati antiques

Evangelista Makati antiques

Evangelista Makati antiques

Perfect for AM drama.

Evangelista Makati antiques

Evangelista Makati antiques

Evangelista Makati antiques

cassette tapes

Evangelista Makati antiques

ancient books.

Evangelista Makati antiques

Say Bloody Mary three times and you’ll see your prince charming.

Evangelista Makati antiques

Evangelista Makati antiques

OOTD?

Evangelista Makati antiques

Me trying to be vintage

Evangelista Makati antiques

Evangelista Makati antiques

Manong Sonny who sells the antiques

Evangelista Makati antiques

Arby and his awesome find!!

Evangelista Makati antiques

Evangelista Makati antiques

Evangelista Makati antiques

Am I vintage na? Nope. It’s just Instagram.

And…since I’m obsessed with anything old, I decided to buy a lomo camera! It’s a Holga 135BC. I had a photowalk yesterday and it’s super fun!!!!

I plan to buy another one and this time, I’ll try Diana F and maybe the Lomo LC Wide.

I’ll be creating another blog for my lomo shots so watch out for it.

Yours truly,

Anoushka

3 thoughts on “My vintage addiction

  1. Hi! I’m planning to go thrifting for furniture and decor at Evangelista. When’s the best time and day to go? Any recos?:) Thank you!:)

    Tina

  2. Hi! I plan to go thrifting for furniture and decor at Evangelista. When’s the best time and day to go? Any recommended shops to check out? Thank you!:)

    Tina

Leave a Reply

