The 101 Sun Salutations

It’s time for some yoga talk!

I am beyond thankful for I was chosen to cover for this event which I can totally relate to. If you have been stalking my blog for quite some time now, you would know how passionate I am with yoga. Yoga transformed my life in such a way that everything seems to fall into the right places. Like all the lucky stars have been shining my every path.
Thats why I know deep in my subconsciousness, this event is meant for me. Originally it wasn’t me who got sent to write about it but for some reason, the assigned writer can’t make it so I was chosen to go instead.

Beyond Yoga: The 101 Sun Salutations

When you want a variety of yoga, and you’re up for a challenge and wanting to explore and learn more, it would be smart to try out yoga at Beyond Yoga for they have a lot of classes to offer. There’s Ashtanga, Vinyasa, Power yoga, Antti Gravity yoga(this is the popular yoga wherein you’re suspended in a hammock and get to do the asanas upside down, stretching yourself this way and that and testng your endurance.) and many more.

We did the 101 Sun Salutations and I must say, this one is a bit tricky. For if you’ll just watch us from afar, you would think the postures are a piece of cake, but in truth, it’s like you’re in a military training. Only less brutal I guess. In Hindu language, its called the Surya Namaskar, opposite of the Chandra Namaskar(moon salutations)that I also practice in the evenings during weekends, if I’m not too busy.

The yoga teachers started the session with a few introductions, then afterwards, we started the meditation and chanted “om” to calm ourselves and prepare for the asanas.

.

Beyond Yoga: The 101 Sun Salutations

URDHVA HASTASANA

Beyond Yoga: The 101 Sun Salutations

UTTANASANA

Beyond Yoga: The 101 Sun Salutations

My challenging pose, THE PLANK

Beyond Yoga: The 101 Sun Salutations

Look how tired I was haha. I waited for the detox demo by Ms Margo Lao, teacher of the Anti Gravity yoga. She’s so pretty and there I was so mesmerized and very engrossed on what she’s discussing. She revealed her age and she’s already 40-ish but definitely looks like 30-ish! Imagine looking ten years younger just because she eats and drinks healthy natural foods. That’s also one thing that made me switch to being a vegetarian. You feel so clean inside and you possess a youthful glow coz your skin becomes clear.

Beyond Yoga: The 101 Sun Salutations

Its surprising how veggie juice can taste so great! Can you imagine drinking ampalaya juice? I swear it doesn’t taste bitter, trick is that you have to combine sweet fruits like bananas or apples and the taste is truly awesome! No kidding here.

So, after the demo one of the Yin yoga teacher asked if I could stay for the next class which is the Yin yoga, this a slow type of yoga wherein postures are held for long periods of time. Though as much as I wanted to stay, I was only sent for the 101 Sun Salutations.. Told him perhaps next weekend or so. Im very proud of myself for I can now strike up a good conversation with people. I realized its so much fun and you can learn a thing or two from these conversations. And, not to mention earning a lot of acquaintances, which sometimes turn into friends.

;
Beyond Yoga: The 101 Sun Salutations

With the Beyond Yoga teachers

Teachers for the 101 Sun Salutations:

Paulo Leonidos
Anna Manalastas
Kit Navarro
Bea Gomez
Benedict Bernabe
Lester Castillo

Want to find peace? Want to live a stress free life? Want to be fit? Then try yoga.

Beyond Yoga studios are located ate these branches:
3rd Floor, C2 Building, 7th Ave Corner 28th Street, Bonifacio High Street Central, Taguig City
Telephone Number: 553-3799
Mobile Number: 0917-6BYYOGA (6299642)
Email: inquire@igobeyondyoga.com
Tomas Morato Branch – 3F Il Terrazzo, Tomas Morato Avenue corner Scout Madrinian St., Quezon City, Philippines Tels. (02) 921-6070 / 0917-5-BEYOND (0917-5239663) BHS Central Branch – 3rd Floor, C2 Building, 7th Ave Corner 28th Street, Bonifacio High Street Central, Taguig City, Philippines
Tel. (02) 553-3799 / 0917-6BYYOGA (6299642) Email: inquire@igobeyondyoga.com

2 thoughts on “The 101 Sun Salutations

  1. Have you ever thought about writing an e-book or guest authoring on other websites?
    I have a blog based on the same topics you discuss and would really like to
    have you share some stories/information. I know my audience would appreciate your work.

    If you are even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me an e-mail.

Leave a Reply

