Sudarshan Kriya- a breathing yoga technique

Last week, our company offered a short course for relieving stress in partnership with The Art of Living. An email blast was sent to all employees with an offer of a short yoga course which is free when you sign up. Though the offer is only limited to 20 people I think. I love how our company cares for our well-being. You  seldom find a company who offers such things like this one.

washmystuff-1-1

20121213-162713.jpg

This is the first time I’ve heard about this  type of yoga. I tried Bikram yoga and hatha yoga at Golds gym and currently I’m studying the Raja yoga (which is for the mind)but Sudarshan Kriya? After reading the email I instantly signed up and tried it.

20121213-162649.jpg

The Art of Living is located at The Antel Corporate Center. I’ve never heard of this organization as well so I googled it.

The Art of Living is a stress-free and violence-free society; to encourage people from all backgrounds, religions, and cultural traditions to come together in celebration, meditation and service

They offer different courses like Sahaj Samadhi which is the art of meditation. Art of Living part 1 course  ART Excel Course(8-13 yrrs), Y.E.S! Course(14-17 yrs), Y.E.S Course (18-30 yrs), Sri Sri yoga, The Art of Silence, Wisdom Series and DSN.

What we had was the Part 1 Course which consists of

  • Practical knowledge to deal with the daily challenges of life
  • Interactive exercises
  • Yoga, stretching, and relaxation exercises
  • Meditation and powerful breathing techniques
  • Sudarshan Kriya, a unique breathing technique

What I love most is the Sudarshan Kriya, which aims to  teach you how to control emotions through your breathing. The method also helps relieve stress and detoxifies the body. Suitable for us employees who work in a KPO/BPO/Call Center  industry.

Honestly, I felt so relaxed during the course especially when the teacher lets us rest in Savasana after the asanas. All of us were put into  slumber and we would be awakened lby Ms Bernadette afterwards.  I also love the Omkar. This mantra is so effective that it releases a balanced energy. It’s like fueling your chakras.

20121213-162703.jpg

in my meditation studies, we don’t meditate with Omkar and we do not have a mantra. It’s totally different. But in The Art of Living, they practice the regular yoga that involves chanting mantras and meditating with your eyes closed. the teachings are also different.  But I enjoyed it nonetheless.

All of the pilot members are from our company except for one. We came from different departments and it was really fun getting to know people from other business units.

20121213-162725.jpg

. We were asked to practice being   vegetarian for 4 days. On my part though, I’m already starting it since it is required in my yoga meditation class.

On our last day we had a potluck of vegetarian lunch. Teacher Bernadette brought a vegetarian kare kare which I have tried and tasted at the BK University. Some brought fruits and salads and breads. Jayjay brought some vegetarian Carbonaro made of Cashew cream sauce with mushrooms. I had three helpings of it.  The guy was spanish and he owns a Mushroom farm or something.

20121213-163615.jpg

There were also some falafel from Starbucks, vegetarian bagoong and kimchi.  To be honest, I wasn’t able to bring my share. I was in a hurry that time and I can’t risk getting late from work. So I figured I’d skip bringing food since I knew a lot of them would bring some anyway. (I know I’m such a free loader. Haha)

20121213-163559.jpg

We were so full and after our power lunch.  They had their exchange gifts. I didn’t join because I didn’t have a gift with me. Such a loser I know.

20121213-163608.jpg

This is the Spanish guy I’m telling you about. Such a nice guy and very outspoken. The one beside him on his left is Teacher Bernadette Suarez. On his right is our Receptionist.

Anyways, It was a very, uh should I say relaxing experience. I’m still thinking if I should continue this to the next level or not. But if ever it fits in my “busy” schedule, why not.

To those of you who are interested in trying Sudarshan Kriya, or any courses from the Art of Living Foundation, you may visit them at the Antel Building Valero Makati.

Check out their website at www.artofliving.org

Leave a Reply

