Second Day of my retreat at BK

Sorry for the delayed post. There were just some important  things tI have to deal with.

So, allow me to share what happened the 2nd day. I’ve finally met the group who will be joining the retreat. We shared some of our experiences in life and all of us have one reason why we’re there–to forgive ourselves.

We woke up around 4:00 am to get ready for our morning meditation. Sister Becky told us that our minds are the most powerful during the mornings. Me and Jen, my roommate, woke up without an alarm clock. Amazing isn’t it? We trusted the Lord that he will wake us up because he knew we will meet him that day.

Let me show you the meditation room. I know it looks scary. Some of us had to admit that the first time we stepped at BK, we thought we were in a cult’s den.  I was scared of their uniform because all of ’em wore this white robe which really screams CULT.

You see the picture at the right side? That’s Brahma Baba, the founder of Brahma Kumaris. Don’t worry, we are not praising him or anything like that. If you are strong about your own beliefs, you wouldn’t easily be confused. BK, however, is not a religion. They are a non-profit organization.  Also what I like about BK is that they don’t talk about religion, they just teach everyone how to think in a positive way through meditation. In fact, many people from different sects go there. Muslims, Christians, Roman Catholic, Buddhist and Protestants. They go there basically just to learn meditation.

These chairs are the most comfortable chair I’ve ever sat on. Don’t know if it’s just psychological or what but as soon as you sit on it, you will feel instantly relaxed  That’s Liz sitting very comfortably in the meditation chair. The room is so cool. It’s like there’s some spirit  looking out on us. You will feel goosebumps all over once you hear the music. And then that’s when you start communicating with God. You just look at the point of light, the one in the middle and clear all thoughts from outside. You imagine that you, the soul, is getting out of your body and going into a place where all souls unite. A place where you see God and a place where there’s peace. It depends on you how long you want to be on the higher consciousness, for as long as you know how to go back to your present state of being.  The BK’s there are so good in meditating that they don’t even blink or twitch!

Meditation allows one to realize that the universe reacts to you as you react to it. When you approach people with an open mind and avoid fully labeling/categorizing them immediately, people intuitively respond to you in a similar manner. That’s how powerful meditation is. I know for some people they find it weird. But, if you just have an open mind, anything can be possible.

One thing I also noticed, A meditator radiates a peaceful aura. Some people think that when you become a meditator: you  suddenly change and  morph into  saints. That’s exaggerating. It’s just that calmness becomes our normal day-to-day persona and we tend to be more tolerant, we allow space for people and situations. We don’t take neither people nor material things for granted nor covet worldly goods so much!

After the meditation,  we had our breakfast of super soft vegetarian pandesal. Super sarap as in!!!

This pandesal is best accompanied by a pandan tea.

 

The view is so breathtaking!

After breakfast we had another session with Sister Becky. She made us write a letter to God. We were given 45 minutes to find a spot where we could be alone and reflect.

As usual, I went to my favorite spot. In fact I already named it to myself.  named it Cheryl’s garden.

 This is what I wrote to God

I even cried after while writing this!

(PS. Sorry there are some typos.)

After 45 minutes, we went back to the session room and we had another 2 mins. meditation.

I heard some sniffing and saw that some were crying because of how emotional the song was.

As for me, I just felt so happy and peaceful and that I just felt the presence of God around us.

Sister Becky said that all of us looked younger overnight. Because of thinking positive thoughts, which made a lot of sense.

People got used of finding happiness from other people. We became more dependent and reliable on material things. These are temporary happiness. I learned not to rely on them too much. I look forward on learning to find happiness just by becoming aware of our inner being. Our soul is the most important thing. I always make it a point to think that way. And I know changing oneself is not an overnight miracle.  Some people expect that since I am learning meditation and studying positive thinking that I should be positive all the time and that I should be more kinder. I mean, I’m still a student and learning the ropes. The core in learning Raja Yoga is you know how to organize thoughts and handle certain situations without losing control of your emotions.  Also by  being aware of your higher consciousness , you attain inner peace and learn to connect with God.

I sounded like I am preaching. Enough said.

Anyways, we had our lunch after the session.Of course this retreat won’t be complete without picture-taking!

This is the sitting room upstairs. Very cozy.

These pictures were taken using my phone. I don’t want to lug heavy cams in a retreat. I don’t think it’s appropriate.

Meet the group

“Emotions cause turbulence in the water. Silence and stillness calms the water”

“Acquire inner peace and a multitude will find their salvation near you.” – Catherine de Hueck Doherty

A mother teaches her child with love and patience until the child learns. Be a mother and teach your mind to have positive thoughts and to let go of worries. Then when your mind needs peace, it will obey you.
Brahma Kumaris

“The meditative state is my canoe ride on the river of being. The gentle ride into oneness where separation melts and all the labels fall away. The contexts of right and wrong evaporate. Instead, what lovingly emerges is an energy flow. There is a realisation that some thoughts and actions propel the canoe on the oneness of the water towards a light. Similarly, some thoughts and actions change the direction of the current and the canoe moves in a direction where light fades. Neither is right or wrong but each direction carries “consequences” for the Soul. Love is constant. The variable is awareness.”

I’m looking forward on the next retreat next month. This time, I will be attending the Raja Yoga intensive. This is a 3 day retreat and it mainly focuses on Raja Yoga meditation and practicing the philosophies of yoga.

For more information about BK, just click the logo of Brahma Kumaris on the right side of this blog.

Learn positive thinking, anger management, living a stress free life and The Raja Yoga meditation for free. BK is a non profitable organization which aims in helping individuals to be aware of our higher consciousness and organizing your thoughts and enriching spiritual growth.

Trust me, learning meditation really works. After a few days of practicing, my performance at work  have improved. I’m more tolerable now. Haha.

OM SHANTI  everyone.

Leave a Reply

